If you’re on the go, or trying to refuel after a workout, protein powder can be a useful supplement. Because most protein powders are made from whey (dairy), what should you do if you’re following a plant based diet?
Plant foods like rice, soy and seeds can be turned into plant-based protein powders by removing the fat and carbs. This process “isolates” the protein from the plant food to create plant protein powder.
There are many types of vegan, or plant-based protein powders including soy, pea, rice, pumpkin seed, and Sacha Inchi. Plant-based protein powders are ideal if you are vegan or unable to consume dairy products. Anyone looking to get more protein variety in their diet can use plant protein powders. Using a plant-based protein powder with digestive enzymes will increase the amount of protein that you can absorb. Because plant proteins are not digested as quickly as whey they make a snack between meals.